Founded in 1937 as ‘Norgesserien’ (lit. ’The League of Norway’), Eliteserien is a Norwegian professional league for association football clubs, at the top of the Norwegian football league system. Contested by 16 clubs, the current champions are Molde, who succeeded Fotballklubben Bodø/Glimt, a football club from the town of Bodø, founded in 1916 and frequently referred to as “Glimt”.

Seasons run from March to November with each team playing 30 matches (playing each other home and away), with most games being played on Sunday evenings. The first Eliteserien season was 1937–38, whereas the first season as professional players was in 1992. Seventeen clubs have won the title since the inception of the league in 1937: Rosenborg (26), Fredrikstad (9), Viking (8), Lillestrøm (5), Molde (5), Vålerenga (5), Brann (3), Larvik Turn (3), Bodø/Glimt (2), Lyn (2), Start (2), Strømsgodset (2), Fram Larvik (1), Freidig (1), Moss (1), Skeid (1) and Stabæk (1). In 2010, Rosenborg became, and still remain, the only club to complete an Eliteserien campaign without losing a single game. The record of most points in a season is 81 by Bodø/Glimt in 2020.

Read more: Eliteserien