The ‘Besta deildin‘ (English: Men’s Best Division) is the highest men’s football league in Iceland, and it has been played since 1912. It is generally played in the spring and summer (May to September) because of the harsh winters in Iceland. Governed by the Football Association of Iceland (KSI), the ‘Besta deildin‘ has 12 teams. Current champions are Víkingur Reykjavík, founded in 1908, at their 6th title.

Read more: