Founded in 1942, the Faroe Islands Premier League (known as ‘Betri deildin menn’ for sponsorship reasons) is the top tier of association football in the Faroe Islands. It holds the ‘Premier League’ name since 2005, and is organised by the Faroe Islands Football Association. Current champions are Klaksvíkar Ítróttarfelag (Faroese for Sports Club of Klaksvík), commonly known as KÍ, based in Klaksvík. Founded in 1904, KÍ is one of the most successful Faroese football clubs, having won the Faroe Islands Premier League 18 times and the Faroe Islands Cup 6 times. Read more: