The Arctic Council is an international forum made up of the eight Arctic countries (Canada, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Russia, Sweden, United States) and the six Arctic Indigenous groups: the ‘Aleut International Association’, the ‘Arctic Athabaskan Council’, the ‘Gwich’in Council International’, the ‘Inuit Circumpolar Council’, the ‘Russian Association of Indigenous Peoples of the North’ and the ‘Saami Council’. The forum works together on environmental issues and sustainable development in the North. Read more: