The Swedish Academy’s Nordic Prize (Swedish: nordiska pris) is presented annually to someone from the Nordic countries who has done significant work in any of the Academy’s areas of operations or interests. The prize was founded in connection with the Academy’s 200-year anniversary in 1986 and funded by the ‘Karin and Karl Ragnar Gierow Foundation’. The prize sum is 400,000 Swedish crowns. Recent prize winners have included Thomas Bredsdorff (2015), Monika Fagerholm (2016), Dag Solstad (2017), Agneta Pleijel (2018) and Karl Ove Knausgård (2019). The prize has been referred to as the “little Nobel” because it is awarded by the same Academy that gives the Nobel Prize. Read more on