The ‘Association of Icelandic Publishers’ hosts this prize, handed out by the President of Iceland in the beginning of each year. There are three categories: fiction, non-fiction and children’s books. Three panels of judges shortlist five books in each category, and the winning ones are then chosen by a final committee, comprised of the foremen of each committee in addition to a foreman appointed by the President of Iceland.
The prize was founded in 1989. A category for children’s books was added in 2013. Read more on