Organised by the ‘Norwegian Ice Hockey Association’ (NIHF), Eliteserien is the Norwegian ice hockey premier league, known as ‘Fjordkraftligaen’ due to sponsorship, and it comprises ten clubs. The national league was launched in 1934 as “1. divisjon”, the name changed when the elite clubs broke away (1990) and formed the new top league “Eliteserien”. On October 1, 2020, NIHF and Fjordkraft announced a new three year naming rights agreement: from the 2020–2021 season, the league would be known as Fjordkraftligaen. Although the most titled team are Vålerenga (26 leagues), the most dominant team over the recent years have been the Stavanger Oilers, with 9 titles won between 2010 and 2023. Read more: